Tahitian Pink Princess Hibiscus

I finished this piece earlier this year. It is titled “Tahitian Pink Princess Hibiscus” and measures 12″x12″.  The leafy background features salvaged tissue paper collage, and the hibiscus blossom features fused fabric mosaic.

I love the simplicity of using a single flower as the dominant feature of an art piece. When I am working with a single element as subject matter, it allows me to focus on the detail of that element. Hibiscus flowers are large and bold and make a statement all by themselves. Multi-color hibiscus have exquisite veining detail in the petals. I am working on trying to improve how I interpret that characteristic which is critical to how the color blends across each petal.

Interested in purchasing this or another piece of art? Check out my Shop page.

"Tahitian Pink Princess Hibiscus", 12"x12" mixed media by Ruth Warren

Leave a Reply

