Depth and Dimension

IMG_3118I am pretty much a self-taught artist. I create based on instinct. I took art classes in high school and college, but it was not my major field of study. And I never really practiced my art day after day, year after year. So I did not experience the growth other artists do when they are younger. I’ve always been passionate about creating, but I was not dedicated to artmaking on a daily basis.

So here I am, 50-something, and finally calling myself a full-time artist. As a result, I am discovering ways to improve my technique. In the past, my artwork tended to be rather flat in terms of depth. My pieces were graphic and colorful, but usually only on a two-dimensional level.  I concentrated primarily on single objects like a flower blossom or a butterfly. I avoided subject matter like landscapes because I was inexperienced and unsure how to create depth within the frame of my work.

But now I am moving forward. I am slowly trying to figure out how to manipulate the materials that I use to create depth on the two-dimensional canvas. This piece, titled Sailboat Sunset, is a result of that effort. And while I have a long way to go in improving my technique, I am getting some unsolicited feedback that reassures me that I am heading in the right direction. When I posted this picture on Facebook, my brother-in-law Tom posted the following response:

“It seems that the more of these mosaics you do, the more dimensional they become. It’s fun watching your process progress.”

Thanks Tom, for noticing. Feedback like this keeps me motivated!

Leave a Reply

