New Beginnings

New business name, new blog, new beginnings…

I’ve needed to do this for months.  Change my business name, begin a blog, get serious about my art.  And I procrastinated.  Which I am really, really good at.  But as a major deadline looms ahead, I realize it is time to set aside the procrastination and earnestly pursue the life path I now feel compelled to travel.

The looming deadline is Reuse Conex, the first national conference ever for the reuse industry. It’s being held here in my hometown of Raleigh and since I have a passion for the world of creative reuse and scrap art, I decided to attend.  And then I went one step further and submitted an application to be an exhibiting artist in the ReArt Exhibit at the conference.  And I was accepted.  And hence the deadline.  I need to create art for this exhibit.

So much to do, so little time.  This is my first chance to exhibit in front of a global audience.  I know I will make a few mistakes.  And I hope I do more than a few things right.  But mostly I know that I am doing exactly what I need to be doing.  As my nest has been emptied at home, I am finally and whole-heartedly pursuing my dream to be a scrap artist and build a career in mid-life that will last for the rest of my years.

And so I introduce to you, ReWorked Creations. (Formerly Mommies Quilts and Creations)  In this blog, I will be sharing the process of my work, and my thoughts on the concepts of reuse, which is undergoing an explosion of growth in this 21st century. As time goes on, I hope we can all learn about the wonderful world of creative reuse together.

Ruth E. Warren

4 comments

  1. Ruth I am SO happy you are finally getting to this point that you have wanted for so long. You have AMAZING talent and can’t wait to see some of your creations in the future. Best of luck and congrats!!

  2. Mommy-
    The new website looks AMAZING! If I don’t say this enough, I am SO very proud of you. I can see how hard you have worked to get to this point and the excitement and happiness you exude through your creations is truly inspiring. Just like your parents made an impact on you, of course you and your creative, brilliant, nifty ways of thinking will have an impact on your girls :). Miss being home by your side and seeing all that you accomplish, but I know you’re working hard without us there to bother you! Keep up the good work, can’t wait for your show! Love and miss you so much!!
    -Katey

  3. Love the work and really enjoyed the show. It was cool to be a part of it and hope that we can work on things together in the future. I love living close by that we can get together. Love you!
    Tracey

Leave a Reply

